2011-2012 Doctoral Dissertation Recipients

Zohar Weiman-Kelman

We are proud to announce the recipients of the 2011-2012 Maurice and Marilyn Cohen Fund for Doctoral Dissertation:

Shaun Halper (UC-Berkeley, History), writing on Jews in the Age of Homosexual Emancipation 1897-1948.

Alexander Kaye (Columbia University, History), writing on The Legal Philosophy of Religious Zionism 1937-1967.

Joshua Teplitsky (NYU, Hebrew and Judaic Studies: History), writing on Between Court Jew and Jewish Court: David Oppenheim, the Prague rabbinate, and eighteenth-century Jewish Political Culture.

Zohar Weiman-Kelman (UC Berkeley, comparative literature) writing on “So the Kids Won’t Understand”: Inherited Futures of Jewish Women Writers.

The panel included two co-chairs, Dr. David N. Myers (History, UCLA), who was returning for the second year, and Dr. Ephraim Kanarfogel (Rabbinics, medieval Jewish history, Yeshiva University), as well as five panelists: Dr. Lila Corwin Berman (American Jewish History, Temple University); Dr. David Engel (History, NYU); Dr. Talya Fishman (Religious studies, modern intellectual history, University of Pennsylvania); Dr. Judith Hauptman (Rabbinics, JTS); and Dr. Wendy Zierler (literature, HUC-NY).

For more information, check out our Doctoral Dissertation page.

Comments are closed.